And it continues, with tofu!?

My eating habits seem to change quite frequently. Sometimes I will want to be strictly vegetarian, other times I find that I reallyreallyreallyreally want a medium rare burger. I have toyed with many vegan recipes and found they have been delicious but I could never live without eggs.. or cheese. but probably milk. It’s a love/hate relationship.

 

IMG_2128

 

So for now, I am going to be completely random and just enjoy the things that I feel like, in that moment. Bare with me. Someday I will have a “label” but, that doesn’t sound very fun. I like random better.

 

IMG_2132

 

The good thing is, I love vegetables. and grains. and spinach smoothies. Unfortunately, I also love cheese. and Pizza. and Fried Food. *sigh*

Aaaaanyway, that was boring. This recipe is awesome! I don’t mind tofu if it’s cooked right. And if it has a lot of seasoning on it…which explains this recipe! Most of these spices I already had on hand, I maybe had to buy…soy sauce and cornstarch. Big deal. And it didn’t take long at all to make. It’s so good. Hopefully I will be replacing some take-out pizza with this delicious (and cheaper!) meal. Eh, probably not though. But at least I put spinach and broccoli on my pizza!

 

IMG_2111

 

Crispy Blackened Tofu {recipe found here}

    For the Tofu

    • 1 block firm or extra-firm tofu (drained and pressed)
    • 2 tablespoons soy sauce or Bragg’s liquid aminos
    • 1 tablespoon sesame oil (or other cooking oil)

    For the Spice Blend

    • 2 teaspoons paprika
    • 1 teaspoon ground black pepper
    • 1 teaspoon corn starch
    • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
    • 1 teaspoon onion powder
    • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
    • 1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
    • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
    • 1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper

    Start by pressing a block of tofu to drain out the excess water. {I layer paper towel in a shallow bowl, place tofu down, layer more paper towels on top. Place a large sauté pan on top of the tofu and fill the pan with heavy items! For example, tomato cans, soup cans, books…etc}

    While the tofu drains, go ahead and make your spice mix. Add all spices to a shallow bowl, and stir to thoroughly combine.

    Once the tofu has drained, slice the block into four even rectangles – once through the width, and then cutting in half through the top.

    Place tofu in a shallow dish and add soy sauce or liquid aminos – it doesn’t need to be much. Just enough to let it soak into the bottom a bit. After a few minutes, flip each piece to coat the other side.

    In a saute pan, heat sesame oil (or other oil of your choice) over medium high heat – you want your pan to really get hot!

    Take each piece of tofu and press it into the spice blend, ensuring to coat the whole bottom in a thick crust of spice. Flip it over and repeat on the other side.

    Then carefully place each piece into the hot pan – it should sizzle and pop, and you’ll see immediate color forming around the base of the tofu.

    Add all four pieces to the pan and continue to cook over medium high heat. After only a minute or two, the bottom should be pretty dark in color – flip to the other side!

    Cook for another minute or two on the other side, until both are crispy and blackened to perfection.

    Slice and serve on a bed of rice with a side of roasted greens! {I served it atop brown rice and sautéed zucchini}

    IMG_2139

     

    Do yourself a favor and make this. It will change your mind about tofu forever. And now if you will excuse me, I bought a little somethin’ somethin’ from Modern Pastry on my way home tonight and it’s calling my name.

     

    IMG_2146

    Leave a Reply

