Twenty-Six

Today is my birthday!! I still get really excited about it even though I don’t receive nearly as many gifts as I did when I was younger, psssh.

It is yucky outside today which isn’t very appealing but I am looking forward to a nice dinner at one of my favorite restaurants in Portland called The Grill Room. I will continue my birthday festivities on Saturday with a Sam Adams Brewery tour in the morning followed by an afternoon Red Sox game and ending the day with a comedy show. It’s even possible I will have to chug a margarita or eat a Mexican style meal considering it will be Cinco De Mayo and all.

Anyway, because it’s my birthday weekend I am not planning on trying out any new recipes for a few days. I did want to post something before I disappear for a few days so I found an old picture of one of my favorite meals.

I believe it was a few years ago when I stumbled upon this recipe. I had heard all of the benefits of tempeh and wanted to give it a shot. I believe I just googled tempeh and picked the most appealing recipe to start with. And that recipe happened to be Buffalo Tempeh “Wings”. I knew I had to try it out because thanks to Tyson, buffalo wings are now one of my favorite things to consume. {Oh and he absolutely loves this meal…it’s often requested}

tempehwings

It’s really simple to make I don’t even think I have a recipe written down anymore. I seem to change it every time I make it…I use water instead of milk, potato chips {one time!} when there weren’t any panko bread crumbs, etc.

Serve it with a side of home made fries or a side salad or whatever you want! Typically we just have it with a side of sautéed veggies and it is filling enough. Sometimes I dip it in ranch dressing because they are pretty spicy! But other times I brave the heat and really appreciate the flavor. They are spicy, don’t say I didn’t warn you. If you haven’t tried tempeh, this is definitely the way to start.

Buffalo Tempeh “Wings”

  • 1 (8oz) package of tempeh
  • 1/3C soy milk (or regular milk)
  • 1/3C flour
  • 1C panko bread crumbs
  • 1tsp paprika
  • 1/2tsp garlic powder
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2C hot sauce {I used Frank’s}
  • 2tbsp butter

Bring 4 cups of water to boil. Meanwhile, cut tempeh into 8 equal slices {I start with a cut through the middle and then cut each side into 4 pieces}. When the water is boiling, lower to heat to medium high and add tempeh. Boil for 15 minutes, drain and rinse with cool water.

Set up three bowls. First one, add the soy or regular milk. In the second, combine flour and seasonings. In the third, add panko bread crumbs.

Preheat oven to 400 degrees

Place each tempeh strip into the milk and coat well. Next, into the flour and then a quick dip back into the milk. Add it to the panko bread crumbs, pressing to make sure it coats well. Set onto a lightly oiled baking sheet. Remain with the rest of the tempeh. When finished, lightly spray all the tempeh pieces with cooking spray. Place into oven and bake for 10 minutes. Flip, and bake for an additional 10 minutes.

While the “wings” are baking, place the hot sauce and butter into a microwaveable dish, cover with saran wrap and cook for ~1-2 minutes, checking often. Whisk the sauce until combined and toss with the tempeh “wings”. Serve immediately. If desired, serve with a side of ranch or bleu cheese!

OK…I will try to return next week with more “normal” recipes

2 Trackbacks to “Twenty-Six”

Leave a Reply

