Homemade Ricotta

IMG_2298

To anyone reading (echo echo), I apologize for the lack of posts. My husband and I have come to the realization that we need to start saving up for a new apartment when our lease ends in September. Why oh WHY is it necessary to have thousands of dollars saved up to rent an apartment, only to have nothing to show for it except a tiny apartment where the faucets leak and the only job of the construction workers are to work outside your apartment every single month that you live there. Bah! What was I getting at? Oh yeah. So since this realization, we have cut back on expenses (or at least trying to, so many temptations all over this city!) and that includes trips to the grocery store. We haven’t been resorting to cup noodle or anything drastic like that, don’t worry.

IMG_2269

Enter homemade ricotta. It’s cheap to make plus easy and not time consuming. Which is important when I decide to pick up everyone’s shift at my job and work every.single.day. Ok, I will probably never do that.

The nice thing about this recipe is you can slather it on top of some toasted baguette pieces and serve it as an appetizer or pair it with some sautéed vegetables and/or a salad and call it dinner. Probably a salad for me, it’s been very humid lately!

IMG_2304

I also had a meatball lying around (I say meatball singular because that’s all my husband left me) and I topped a piece of baguette with ricotta and sliced meatball and it was awesome! I think next time I will make sure I have plenty of meatballs and maybe make some sort of meatball/ricotta Panini sandwich. Yumm.

IMG_2309

I first tried this recipe at home with my family. My brother had brought a nice bottle of balsamic vinegar with him from San Francisco. We topped the toasted baguette slices with a little bit of olive oil and a little of the vinegar and it was a perfect match! When I made it at my apartment, it wasn’t anything too fancy. I just topped it with salt and pepper, and a small drizzle of olive oil and it was perfection.

We (my brother actually convinced me to make it with him the first time) found this recipe here. She gives you more information and her pictures are obviously better but whatever! I live in that crappy apartment, remember?

Homemade Ricotta

Makes about 1 generous cup of ricotta

3 cups whole milk
1 cup heavy cream
1/2 teaspoon coarse sea salt
3 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice

Pour the milk, cream and salt into a 3-quart nonreactive saucepan. Attach a candy or deep-fry thermometer. Heat the milk to 190°F, stirring it occasionally to keep it from scorching on the bottom. Remove from heat and add the lemon juice, then stir it once or twice, gently and slowly. Let the pot sit undisturbed for 5 minutes.

Line a colander with a few layers of cheesecloth and place it over a large bowl (to catch the whey). Pour the curds and whey into the colander and let the curds strain for at least an hour. At an hour, you’ll have a tender, spreadable ricotta. At two hours, it will be spreadable but a bit firmer, almost like cream cheese*. (It will firm as it cools, so do not judge its final texture by what you have in your cheesecloth.) Discard the whey. Eat the ricotta right away or transfer it to an airtight container and refrigerate until ready to use.

*I doubled the batch and left it for 2 hours but it was still more creamy than firm. As you can see in the first picture.

4 Responses to “Homemade Ricotta”

  1. Great pictures, Megan. The one with the meatball made my mouth water! This is the recipe I hoped you would share. I’ll let you know how it works.

  2. Thank you! Let me know if you like it

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

