Ricotta Fritters

These are deelicious.

IMG_2345

I was trying to find a recipe that would use the rest of my homemade ricotta and came across the ricotta fritter. There were all sorts of different variations. Lemon, mini chocolate chips, homemade jams on the side for dipping, etc. I went to see what I had available in my own cupboards and that is when I realized I could (and had to) make these. Immediately.

I love discovering a new recipe you can make that doesn’t require you to run to the store for any last minute ingredients.

IMG_2339

I should really find more friends in this area because after all was said and done, I had about 20 hot crispy fritters all to myself and no one to share with. I took a bite, jumped up and down and shared my excitement with … my cat. Too bad he couldn’t have one with me, along with a glass of chardonnay.

IMG_2351

The ricotta gives the fritters a light, fluffy texture. Top them with confectionary sugar and they are severely addicting. I also found a bag of chocolate chips so I obviously had to make a chocolate drizzle for a few. Don’t mind my drizzling (?) skills, I was in a hurry – they only stay nice and warm for so long you know!joined

I based my recipe loosely on this one from Bobby Flay. He says it will make 36 but I definitely had more like 20

Ricotta Fritters

4-6 cups vegetable oil
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon grated lime zest
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup whole milk ricotta
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
3 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting
Lime zest, for garnish
Chocolate chips, melted (optional)

Heat 2-inches vegetable oil in a large, wide, heavy saucepan until it registers 370 degrees F. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, zest, and salt in a medium sized bowl. Whisk together the ricotta, eggs, granulated sugar, and vanilla in another bowl, then whisk into the flour mixture.

Working in batches, gently drop in tablespoons of the batter and fry, turning occasionally, until deep golden, about 3 minutes per batch. Transfer with a slotted spoon to paper towels to drain. Dust generously with confectioners’ sugar,  drizzle with melted chocolate (if using) and garnish with lime zest. Serve immediately.

They aren’t so bad reheated the next day either…for breakfast, or a snack.

One Comment to “Ricotta Fritters”

  1. Making my own ricotta is on the list of things to do when my job slows down a bit. Now I can make these fritters too.

Leave a Reply

