Vegan Soft Pretzels

Someday I plan on developing my own recipes, but the point of starting this site was to make the hundreds of recipes I have collected from websites and cookbooks. There will be some that I have tried already but mostly there are new ones. I like to use this site to document what I really enjoyed making. I also feel this will help me develop my own recipes in the future because, for example, I will try a lot of recipes that are consistent with making a homemade dough or something to familiarize myself with the measurements. See what I mean? Well if not, I’m sorry. Instead, here are some pictures of the pretzels I made, from one of my favorite sites Peas And Thank You !

IMG_2334

IMG_2366

IMG_2372

IMG_2374

IMG_2379

IMG_2389

IMG_2393

IMG_2395

Other than the obvious reasons of why one should like this recipe, it’s also perfect for us because it only makes 4 (giant) pretzels. We don’t need to be eating pretzels for a week straight around here, trust me.

*I didn’t change a single thing to this recipe, you can find it here

Vegan Soft Pretzels

3/4 cups warm water (110-115 degrees)
2 teaspoons organic sugar
2 teaspoons salt
1 teaspoon active dry yeast (~1/2 packet)
2 1/2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons vegan margarine, melted (or regular butter, however it will no longer be considered vegan. obviously)
10 cups water
2/3 cups baking soda
Coarse ground salt (sea salt)

Combine the water, sugar and salt in bowl of a mixer. Sprinkle yeast on top and let sit for ~5 minutes, until foamy.

Add melted butter and flour. Knead dough for 5 minutes, adding more flour if needed, until smooth and no longer sticky. Transfer dough to an oiled bowl, let rise for 1 hour.

Separate dough into 4 sections. Using hands (floured hands if dough is a little sticky and wet hands if too dry) roll into 24” long strands and shape into a knot. Transfer to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper that has been sprayed.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Bring water and baking soda to a boil, drop in pretzels one at a time, boil for ~30 seconds. Transfer to a baking sheet that has been sprayed. Sprinkle pretzels with sea salt. Bake 12-14 minutes.

3 Responses to “Vegan Soft Pretzels”

  1. yumm, those look amazing… was it hard to do?

  2. Not at all! The dough is quick to make and after it rises you just roll out each section. The rolling takes a little practice but take a section and form into a small log shape, and then starting in the middle, use both hands roll it out with an up and down motion. If that makes sense, haha

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

