Panko Fried Pickle Chips

IMG_2459

So my last post was all about crunchy baked onion rings. Clearly, we should now talk about crunchy fried pickles. These are also very easy, which I don’t think is ever a terrible thing.

TQ and I actually own a mini fryer that we got a few years ago as a Christmas gift. We fried for a few days…beer battered veggies and shrimp, homemade potato chips, etc. But then we got really disgusted with ourselves with the amount of frying we were doing and honestly haven’t gotten it back out since. Whenever I do fry things, which is rare, I simply dump oil into a pot on the stove and that works fine too.

IMG_2404-tile

ANYWAY. These came out awesome. Super crunchy exterior and a soft salty, pickle-y (?) middle. Unfortunately I didn’t make a dipping sauce to go with them. I already had everything on hand for making the fried pickles and since I made them at 10:00 at night, I didn’t think going to the store was an option. But I will have to remember that for the next time because as awesome as they are on their own, a dipping sauce would take them to a whole different level.

IMG_2437

Let’s go off topic for a moment. I came across two really funny websites recently that I want to share.

Maddie On Things – An adorable coonhound just randomly standing on crazy things.

What Should We Call Me – It’s hard to explain, but it’s hilarious!! Just click on it, and make sure you have some time to waste.

Ok sorry – back to the pickles.

Panko Fried Pickle Chips
Recipe here (since I am still not feeling creative enough to develop my own recipes lazy)

2 cups ridge cut pickle chips, pressed between paper towels *important step
1 cup all purpose flour
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups seasoned panko breadcrumbs
salt and pepper to taste
2 quarts vegetable oil for frying

Preheat oil to 350°F.

Place flour, eggs and panko in three separate shallow dishes.

Dredge pickle chips in flour, shaking off any excess, followed by the egg and finally in the panko until fully coated. Set coated pickle chips onto a baking sheet lined with parchment and place in the freezer for about 20 minutes.

While the chips are in the freezer make the dipping sauce: Place all the sauce ingredients into a mixing bowl and whisk together. Set aside covered in plastic wrap until ready to use.

Remove pickle chips from freezer and fry in batches, for about 5 to 6 minutes.

Drain onto paper towels and season with salt and pepper. Repeat until all the pickle chips have been fried. Serve immediately.

IMG_2462

4 Responses to “Panko Fried Pickle Chips”

  1. These are my favorite, I make them at least once a week! Can’t wait to try your coconut shrimp!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

