Buffalo Style Turkey Burgers

IMG_2531

Sure, I could have made these burgers look a little more enticing but honestly I think I was just too hungry. At least I added the lettuce! We have been frequenting the Copley Square Farmer’s market and returning home with items such as carrots, cucumbers, fresh bread, strawberries, cider donuts (hehe) and of course, lettuce.

Unfortunately I don’t think I will be buying lettuce EVER AGAIN as often. Well, here’s why. We bought two giant heads of inexpensive lettuce, tucked them into our bag and headed onto the T towards home. Once there, I decided I should take the time to wash all the lettuce and bag it up for easy access later on.

I took the first bunch of lettuce and washed it, dried it, rolled it up in paper towel and tossed it into the fridge. I started in with the second one but became lazy and after I washed it, I left it sitting in the bowl for quite a long time before returning to it. After I decided to pick myself off the couch and finish what I started, I walked over to the bowl and stuck my hand in to start ringing it out. AND THEN!!!!!!!! I looked down at the bowl and there was the BIGGEST SPIDER I HAVE EVER SEEN IN MY ENTIRE LIFE a mere 2” from my hand. My husband will back me up here. I screamed and ran and he was so concerned. After I told him, although slightly terrified himself, he saved the day. I honestly have never seen anything like it before and what frightens me even more is 1) what if there were like seven spiders in the bowl and they all scattered around the apartment and are coming out at night to crawl on my face and 2) what if I had decided to finish washing the lettuce and came across it during that? Like actually touched it with my hands?! Waaaaaah.

IMG_2510

Blech, ok moving on. Just incase you were wondering, I did not use any of that lettuce. I just couldn’t and I feel awful but to think about eating lettuce that had that big of a spider crawling around in it, possibly laying eggs, just turned me off completely. Hopefully I will get over my fear and buy lettuce from the farmers market again.

IMG_2519

Well anyway, how about these burgers hmm? They aren’t very photogenic (see above, blurry photo) but delicious nonetheless. I came across this recipe when I was in college, in my Rachael Ray phase. I found this in one of the cookbooks I owned and have been hooked on them ever since.

IMG_2528

I no longer have this cookbook and honestly can’t remember which of the three books I owned that it came from. I did a Google search and the recipe I found was a lot different than I remember. I don’t use the exact recipe anymore (mostly because I have forgotten it, and usually just wing it) but it’s very easy and I don’t think you could screw it up. I probably change the herbs and seasonings every time, I probably change the ratios but that’s the fun of cooking!

Buffalo Style Turkey Burgers makes 4 patties

1 Package good quality ground turkey breast (around 1lb)

Vegetable oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

Salt and Pepper to taste (~ 1/4 teaspoon each)

1/2 teaspoon dried parsley

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

1/4 Frank’s Red Hot

Hamburger buns, split and toasted

Ranch Dressing (Or Bleu cheese if you prefer)

Leaf lettuce

DIRECTIONS:

In a large mixing bowl, pour in a healthy drizzle of oil (enough to prevent the burgers from sticking to the pan). Add the turkey, garlic, parsley, salt and pepper. Mix and form into 4 even patties.

Heat a grill pan (or a nonstick skillet) over medium high heat. Cook the burgers for 4-6 minutes on each side, until cooked through and no longer pink in the middle. Remove and place burgers on a paper towel lined plate.

Heat a small pot over low. Melt the butter and add the hot sauce. One at a time, gently toss the patties into the hot sauce making sure to coat evenly.

Place the burgers onto the buns and top with ranch dressing and lettuce. Serve immediately.

 

I made this post long enough but I wanted to mention we bought a juicer!  Yummmmmm. From left to right: The ingredients included in one of our juices. Apple, carrot, ginger, kale, strawberry and beets. Next are the juices served over ice. The orange shot is ginger with a splash of carrot. We first discovered this shot when we lived in Portland at a place called Mojo Health Bar. And the last photo is the pulp that comes out of the juicer. It’s so pretty! I need to find different ways to use it up so we don’t have to throw it away.

 

juicing

2 Comments to “Buffalo Style Turkey Burgers”

  1. Ok ok, so sometimes food isn’t photogenic. But, guess what? It’s not supposed to be, it’s supposed to taste good and I bet those turkey burgers tasted dang good. {I love how you balanced the burger with a super healthy juice}

  2. Very true… they were awesome, my husband said best yet!

Leave a Reply

