Crockpot Beef Stew

title

This was a very good, very easy meal. I always want to try and use the crockpot more often but for some reason I never do. (By the way…Is it crockpot or crock pot? Now they both look funny to me.)

IMG_2973

I was excited to make it when I saw it on Eat Live Run. Jenna made it with butternut squash and mushrooms with an addition of soy sauce. I left out the mushrooms because my husband is not a fan and for some reason I didn’t pick up a butternut squash SO I just made a basic beef stew. Mine also has some different ingredients mainly because I used what I had on hand.

IMG_2969

The beef was very tender and the vegetables were cooked perfectly. I purchased the potatoes at a local farmer’s market and they had that fresh, melt in your mouth taste.

So here’s what you need and how you do it!

IMG_2953

IMG_2954IMG_2963

IMG_2972


Crockpot Beef Stew {Adapted from Jenna’s Crockpot Beef and Butternut Squash Stew}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1.5 lb beef stew meat
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 6-7 small potatoes, chopped
  • 3-4 large carrots, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 4 cups beef broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • Pinch chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 cup flour

DIRECTIONS:

Place the flour in a shallow dish with beef. Toss well to coat.

Heat the oil over medium high heat. Add onions and sauté for 5 minutes. Add the beef and garlic and continue sautéing until beef has browned. 

Place onions, beef and garlic at the bottom of crockpot. Next add bay leaf, carrots and potatoes. Pour broth over and add worcestershire, soy sauce, sugar, paprika and chili.

Place the lid on, set to low and cook 8-10 hours.

Remove bay leaf, add salt and pepper before serving.

**Print this recipe**


Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment