Quinoa Veggie Fried Rice

quinoatitle

The sun hasn’t been coming out very often AND to add… the sun is down by 5:30. I know, I know… this happens every year so I should be used to it. BUT I’M NOT!!!!

Too dramatic?

IMG_3019

I was hoping to take pictures in front of these big sliding glass doors I have in the kitchen but the light hasn’t been shining into it as much as I would like so most of my pictures have been coming out on the dull side. So I went on a mission to find better light.

And I found it.

I looked everywhere and finally found the sun shining through the upstairs bedroom window. Yes! So I lugged my equipment upstairs, pulled back the curtain, and got to work.

IMG_3010

Dexter was being nosy!

The first photo on this post was taken downstairs, so you can see how much darker it looks. I still need some more practice (because I refuse to use Auto on my camera) but I am happy to have found a spot where the sun shines through most of the day.

With this quinoa dish I didn’t add as many ingredients as I would have liked but it still came together really well. It has broccoli, corn, garlic, onion, shredded carrots, diced eggs, ginger and quinoa with a splash of soy sauce. When I make it again I will have to add more things such as mushrooms, zucchini, shrimp, chicken, cauliflower, etc. Oh and I definitely added a TON of sriracha on before I ate it. I love that stuff.

P.S. Make sure you use a very large skillet, I had to get a different one out halfway through when I realized how much went into this!

IMG_3021

Quinoa Veggie Fried Rice {adapted from this recipe}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 head broccoli, cut into florets
  • 1/2 cup frozen corn
  • 2 carrots, peeled and grated
  • 3 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 tbsp grated fresh ginger
  • 3 tbsp soy sauce
  • Sriracha, for serving

DIRECTIONS:

Heat 1 tablespoon of the olive oil in a medium skillet over low heat. Add eggs and fry until cooked through, about 2-3 minutes per side, flipping only once. Let cool before dicing into small pieces.

Heat remaining 1 tablespoon of olive in oil in a large skillet (or wok) over medium high heat. Add garlic and onion, and cook, stirring often, until onions become translucent, about 4-5 minutes.

Add broccoli. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 3-4 minutes.

Add corn, carrots and quinoa. Cook, stirring constantly until heated through, about 1-2 minutes. 

Add ginger and soy sauce, gently toss to combine. Cook, stirring constantly, until heated through, about 2 minutes.

Stir in eggs.

Serve immediately, drizzled with Sriracha, if you like.

**Print this recipe**

Leave a Reply

