Popovers

IMG_3270

Popovers were something my Dad used to make for the holidays. I really looked forward to them every single year and now that I know how to make them myself, they make an appearance more often!

Well…ok, my husband makes them.

IMG_3271

They are really easy to make. You can certainly add ingredients like shredded cheese, chives, etc. but these only have four ingredients. Eggs, milk, salt and flour. Ok… FIVE if you count the butter which is used for greasing the pan. You probably have all the ingredients in your house right now.

IMG_3273

IMG_3274

Slight crunch on the outside with an airy, fluffy texture on the inside. They are great plain, with butter, or with jam. We stuffed ours with scrambled eggs.

*I do own a popover pan but I have heard you can make them in a muffin pan. I am not sure how well it will work.

 

Popovers
{makes 6}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Butter

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 450°F

In a medium bowl, beat the eggs slightly. Mix in flour, milk and salt until just smooth; being careful not to overbeat. Let the mixture come to room temperature approx. 30 minutes.

Grease a popover pan generously with butter. Fill the cups 2/3 full with the mixture.

Bake at 450°F for 20 minutes (or less, depending on your oven. Mine gets super hot so I did 15 minutes). Decrease oven temperature to 350°F and bake for 20 minutes more, until puffed up and golden brown. Remove from cups and serve immediately.

**Caution: the steam inside the popover will be hot!

**Print this Recipe**

Tags: , ,

6 Comments to “Popovers”

  1. I read! I also love to make popovers!

  2. I have a popover pan. I have not used it yet. Maybe on Thursday. Thanks for the inspiration. Yes I have not used the pan yet.

Leave a Reply

