Easy Home fries

title

I don’t typically eat a lot for breakfast. Usually I have a flavored greek yogurt paired with a few cups of coffee. But when I do have a large breakfast, I love the combination of crispy home fries and eggs. Give me scrambled, over easy, or an omelet – I’m not picky!

I used to make home fries with leftover, boiled potatoes because the process from starting with raw potatoes took way too long, OR SO I THOUGHT.

hfries

Heating the potatoes in a microwave to slightly soften them cuts a lot of cooking time. The bowl needs to be covered with plastic wrap and please be cautious when removing the plastic wrap from the bowl! The steam is incredibly hot. It’s a pretty obvious assumption, but I have yet to learn my lesson. Hopefully you are smarter than me.

IMG_3341

I mentioned before that I prefer a small breakfast, but when we decide to put in the effort for a larger meal, we go BIG. A little too big. I wrote that this will serve 4 because that’s how much it probably should serve, but we just split the whole pan between the two of us! And then I took a nap. Big breakfast = a lazy day.

IMG_3361

We were given the leftover veggies from a pizza night we had before Thanksgiving, so I threw them into an omelet. If you can call it that…I am still trying to figure out how to make an omelet. It doesn’t look so bad though does it? Don’t lie.

IMG_3366

And YES this would taste great with bacon mixed in (and carrots). I’m trying to cut back on my meat consumption, and also trying to save money where I can. Lame.

Home Fries {adapted from Smitten Kitchen}
serves 2-4

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1.5 lbs potatoes, scrubbed and cut into 1/2” cubes
  • 4 tbsp butter
  • 1 onion, finely chopped
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

DIRECTIONS:

Arrange potatoes in a large microwave safe bowl, top with 1 tbsp butter and wrap tightly with plastic wrap. Microwave until edges of the potatoes begin to soften, approx. 5-7 minutes. Carefully stir halfway. Steam will be HOT.

Melt 1 tbsp butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until softened and slightly browned, approx. 6 minutes. Transfer the onions to a bowl.

Melt remaining 2 tbsp of butter in the large skillet over medium heat. Add the potatoes and pack down with the spatula. Cook, without stirring, until potatoes begin to brown underneath, approx. 5-7 minutes. Flip the potatoes and again pack down with spatula, cooking until brown underneath, approx. 5-7 minutes. Reduce heat to medium low and continue cooking and mixing until brown and crispy, approx. 9-12 minutes.

Stir in the onions and seasonings. Serve immediately.

**Print this Recipe**

2 Comments to “Easy Home fries”

  1. I love home fries – we don’t really get them in the UK, it’s something I’m definitely happy to have discovered, moving to the US! I also recently discovered using the microwave for potatoes for things like a potato rosti – silly really, because I’ve always put baked potatoes in the microwave first before baking, but it never occurred to me to use the same method for other recipes!

Leave a Reply

