Homemade English Muffins

IMG_3385

No one has ever said “this does NOT taste better homemade”. And if they have, slap them for me.

Whenever I make homemade goodies, I become more and more excited about the possibilities of other homemade items that I can (and should) start making on a regular basis. Well folks, ENGLISH MUFFINS have just been added to my I-will-never-buy-again list.

IMG_3392

We ate a couple LOT when they first came out of the oven because they were so irresistible. Once we were able to cut ourselves off, I saved the remainder in a zip lock bag and tossed them on the counter. I thought I would have to freeze most of them but oh no…they didn’t last. We made english muffin pizzas with the remainder! (Broccoli and spinach for me, hamburger and jalapenos for my man friend.)

YES!

IMG_3408

So other than shoveling them in our mouths straight outta the oven and as a base for mini pizzas, I managed to try one toasted with apple butter. I had some left over from the mini apple pie cheesecakes. What a great snack! I would have continued to eat them this way alongside a mug of tea (I am trying to swap my 6 cups of coffee in the morning with green tea), but unfortunately they just didn’t last that long.

Oh, but LUCKILY!! I still have all the ingredients here to make another batch, which I will do as soon as I clean the kitchen. Ugh. That may be awhile.

*I admit, these photos are pretty lame. But so is the fact that the sun sets at 4pm and I have zero light when cooking! So there! Ok Ok…I’ll try harder, you convinced me.

English Muffins {Recipe from Foodess}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 1/4 cup cold butter, cubed
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 4 cups all purpose flour (or 2 cups whole wheat, 2 cups all purpose)
  • 1 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 2 1/4 tsp instant or rapid rise yeast
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • Cornmeal, for dusting skillet

DIRECTIONS:

In large microwave-safe measuring cup, microwave milk on high power until starting to simmer at edges, about 2 1/2 minutes. Stir in cold butter until melted. When mixture has cooled to warm, stir in beaten egg and yogurt.

Combine flour, sugar, yeast and salt in the bowl of a standing mixer. With mixer speed on low (using beater attachment), slowly add milk mixture. Beat 1 minute, until thoroughly combined. Dough will be very wet. Cover with saran wrap and place in a warm spot to rise for one hour.

Scrape dough from bowl onto a floured work surface. Lightly flour the top of dough, and pat down until it is about 1/2 inch thick. Use a floured 3” biscuit cutter (or a upside-down drinking glass) to make rounds. Gather up scraps of dough and repeat. Use a floured spatula to pick up the English muffins as you go, and set them aside to rise for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat oven to 400 degrees F and heat a skillet (or two) over medium heat. Dust skillet generously with cornmeal. Place English muffins 1 inch apart in skillet and cook 3-4 minutes, until golden brown on bottom. Flip and cook another 3-4 minutes on other side. Transfer to baking sheet as they’re done. Once all English muffins have been browned, bake in center of oven for 7-10 minutes, until they sound hollow when you tap their tops.

Tags: ,

One Comment to “Homemade English Muffins”

  1. English muffins are that easy? Well damn, driving to the store to buy them seems like more work than this.

Leave a Reply

