Homemade Cheesesteaks

title

Surely your resolution of eating healthier is on the back burner, right? Ok good. (And don’t call me Shirley! Ha!) Here is a cheesesteak for you to make. As Soon As Possible. (aka ASAP)

Hello Dexter!

IMG_4086

Hi green pepper guts!

IMG_4085

I’m sorry but I am not very focused on writing right now. My husband and I are starting a detox tomorrow morning so we are trying to enjoy ourselves before it begins (chinese food for dinner?? Hehe). Not that I am wishing it wasn’t happening, I am actually very excited about it! I found it here. It’s not intimidating and I don’t believe I will feel deprived. Well…I probably will.

We are planning on watching movies, catching up on some reading and enjoying each others company but maybe I will just sit at the computer and look at pictures of this cheesesteak! 

Ok, maybe I am regretting the detox now. Oh just kidding.

I am already proud of the fact that we made it through the grocery store. We entered the store, list in hand, and the first thing I saw were avocados and I said “Ok, we need 6 avocados…geez that’s a lot”. The rest of the list included items such as 11 lemons, 20 cucumbers, 12 carrots, etc. I felt rather strange and I swear people were looking at us funny. “Ok there is there ginger over there, just take the rest of them!” We almost chickened out but I am really happy we made it to the check out line. The poor old lady at the register had to take her time and type in every.single.produce. At least she only charged us for 9 lemons instead of 11. Score!

So because of this situation I am in, I will let the pictures do the talking today. And I am pretty sure they are saying MAKE ME.

ingredients

IMG_4111-horz

IMG_4119-horz

IMG_4129

IMG_4135

 

Homemade Cheesesteaks {slightly adapted from here}
makes 2

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb shaved steak
  • 1 green pepper, sliced
  • 1 small onion, sliced
  • 4 oz sharp white cheddar cheese, grated
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 tbsp flour
  • 2/3 cup half and half
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 2 large sub rolls

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 400°F

Heat a griddle pan or large skillet over medium low heat and add olive oil. When oil is hot, add green pepper, onions, salt and pepper and cook until softened, stirring occasionally. 6-8 minutes. Add shaved steak and cook until no longer pink, 3-5 minutes. Don’t overcook!

In a small saucepan, heat butter over medium heat. When starting to sizzle, add flour and whisk until mixture is slightly golden, about 2 minutes. Add the half and half and stir until bubbling and thick. Reduce heat to low and add half the cheddar and mix thoroughly until creamy.

Set down a sub roll on two separate pieces of aluminum foil. Add peppers, onions and steak mixture to each roll. Drizzle on half of the cheese sauce and top with the rest of the cheddar. Roll each sandwich up very tightly. Place on baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes. Unwrap from foil and serve.

**Print this Recipe**

One Comment to “Homemade Cheesesteaks”

  1. I’ll be over with my new pair of raise up lights!

Leave a Reply

