Cajun Style Chicken Tenders

title

WHOA.

I apologize for the lack of posts in the new year. I know there are thousands of readers who depend on my humor and wit to get them through their day (ha!).

My husband and I have been enjoying the new year so far. We completed a cleanse! Well.. we completed a very simple 3 day cleanse. It wasn’t a 10 day liquid diet or anything extreme. I found it here and I would recommend it to anyone looking to replace their bad eating habits with good habits for a few days. Although I didn’t look like a slim hottie by the end, it really made a difference on how I felt. I would like to start incorporating certain parts of it into the things I eat daily (see what I did there?). I like the ginger/lemon water in the morning and we really enjoyed the juice. I wouldn’t mind making the salad again either. Check it out!

IMG_4146

So…chicken tenders! Or fingers if you prefer to call them that. I am excited about these because they are easy to make and the possibilities are endless. My husband loves anything Cajun style so this was a great place to start.

OH and these are BAKED not fried. So automatic health food, amiright?

This is a Cajun rub we found at the grocery store and it was fantastic! Great flavor. I probably added more rub than the average person would have enjoyed but I’ve said it before and I’m saying it again – I LOVE SPICY FOOD.

IMG_4148IMG_4149-horzIMG_4160IMG_4162

IMG_4168

Enjoy!

P.S. You will probably notice the header on the site changing multiple times in the near future until I figure out which one I like. Just bare with me, I am very indecisive. Plus I am working on getting my own domain so I am looking forward to that.

ALSO! I am very happy to see more and more people “liking” my posts, PLEASE feel free to leave a comment so I know exactly what it is that you are enjoying : ) And you could LIKE me on Facebook while you’re at it!

That is all. Have a great night!

Cajun Style Chicken Tenders {inspired by this recipe}
serves 2

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 lb boneless skinless chicken tenders (~6 tenders)
  • 2 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 2 cups panko breadcrumbs
  • 2 1/2 tbsp Cajun seasoning (more or less depending on preference)
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp pepper

DIRECTIONS:

2-4 hours before serving (or overnight) place chicken tenders into a baking dish and cover with buttermilk. Let soak.

When ready, preheat oven to 450°F

In a large bowl, mix together flour, panko, Cajun seasoning, salt and pepper. Layer a baking sheet with a wire rack and spray with non -stick spray (important for crispy tenders!).

Remove each tender from the buttermilk and place into the panko mixture, pressing gently to adhere. Place tenders on the wire rack and use more non-stick spray on the tops of each one.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, gently flip each tender and bake for another 10-12 minutes. Serve with your favorite dip or with a salad like we did!

**Print this Recipe**

3 Trackbacks to “Cajun Style Chicken Tenders”

Leave a Reply

