Lemon Chicken

IMG_4186

Not to sound ungrateful or anything but I cannot wait to move out of my mom’s house and into our own apartment again! (OK we aren’t living with my mom at home, we are just staying at her house while she is in Florida for the Winter.) I miss having my own things set up and having my own kitchen to use and I definitely miss a gas stove. We will be here for about 4 more months so bare with me while I use her plates in photos rather than my favorite dishes! Soon I will be reunited with my things again.

For now, here’s an incredibly delicious chicken meal on not so stylish plates! (Sorry Mom)

This is my way of trying to make more “grown-up meals”. I also sautéed up some leftover veggies I had in the fridge. I could see this being served at our place with a few guests over, sipping on wine!

IMG_4181

IMG_4199

I LOVE the crunch of a nicely seasoned skin and this really hit the spot. I should have made a dozen of these, taken of all the skins, stacked them all on top of each other and had that for dinner. TMI?

Lemon Chicken {recipe adapted from Annie’s Eats}
serves 2-4

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 tbsp. lemon zest
  • 1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 2 tsp. fresh thyme leaves
  • 1 tsp. fresh rosemary leaves, finely minced
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. black pepper
  • 2-4 lbs. of bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs or drumsticks ( I used 2 lbs)
  • 2-3 tbsp. melted butter
  • Lemon slices, for garnish (Clearly I was lazy forgot)

DIRECTIONS:

Combine the lemon zest, lemon juice, garlic, thyme, rosemary, salt and pepper in a large zipper-lock plastic bag. Seal the bag and shake well to blend. Place the chicken pieces in the bag with the marinade, pressing out excess air and sealing once more. Refrigerate and let marinate for 2 hours.

Preheat the oven to 425˚ F. Remove the chicken pieces from the marinade and transfer to a baking dish, skin-side up, reserving the leftover marinade. Brush the top of each piece of chicken with melted butter.

Bake for 50-55 minutes, until the skins are crispy and well-browned. Halfway through baking, pour the remaining marinade over the chicken pieces in the baking dish. Once fully baked, cover loosely with foil and let rest 10 minutes before serving. Transfer to a serving platter and serve.

**Print this Recipe**

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

