Buttermilk Biscuits

title

Do you know how stinkin’ easy homemade biscuits are and how much better they taste than store bought?! Well…EASY and SO MUCH BETTER.

When I don’t feel like ordering a bagel with cream cheese at Dunkin’ Donuts, I always go for an egg and cheese on a biscuit. Now the idea of it grosses me out, because those biscuits are not these biscuits. Know what I’m sayin’? No? Well anyway…

Just look at the ingredients:

IMG_4272

You don’t need to wait for dough to rise, you don’t need to knead for hours (or what always feels like hours). I didn’t do anything special to create layers of flakiness, it just happened. I have heard that it helps to handle the dough as little as possible. This is what mine looked like, barely mixed and clumps of butter throughout.

IMG_4280

IMG_4281

IMG_4317

I wish I got a little bit more creative but I wanted to start with the most basic recipe. Now I want to make them all the time!!

IMG_4289

And there really aren’t too many dishes to dirty!! Can you tell that I am excited? I don’t even want to talk about anything else today besides these GD biscuits. Next time I would love to throw some herbs in and see what happens. I’ve even seen terrific biscuit combos such as cheese and bacon or strawberries and cream. Yum.

IMG_4297

Buttermilk Biscuits {Slightly adapted from these biscuits}
makes 8

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for dusting
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp coarse salt
  • 6 tbsp cold butter (unsalted)
  • 1 cup buttermilk

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 450°F

Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large bowl.

Cut the butter into small chunks and crumble it into the flour mixture.

Add the buttermilk and mix (with hands) until JUST combined. Don’t overdo it. It should be on the wet side.

Place onto floured work surface and gently pat the mix until it’s about 1/2 inch thick. Fold it over 4-5 times, patting it down to an 1-1 1/2” thick each time. Try not to work it too much.

Using a cookie cutter, cut the dough into 8 circles (or 9 if there’s extra!)

Place them about an inch apart on a very lightly greased baking sheet.

Bake for 10-12 minutes, checking to see when they are golden brown. Devour.

**Print this Recipe**

Tags: , ,

2 Comments to “Buttermilk Biscuits”

  1. You have inspired me! I need a biscuit and this looks like a recipe I can handle!

Leave a Reply

