Fried Goat Cheese

title

Wow these were good.

One of my favorite restaurants in Portland, Maine is called The Grill Room. There is an appetizer on the menu that we have to order every single time we visit that place, it’s called Steak ‘n Cheese Beef Carpaccio. It is a block of fried goat cheese topped with beef carpaccio, some greens, and red onion. It is incredible. One time I went with some family for my birthday and even convinced my mom to try it. She really didn’t like the idea of trying thin slices of raw beef but she was completely obsessed after one bite. 

I would love to create the whole appetizer at home, but the raw sliced beef worries me (with my luck I would make myself sick). I’ll leave that up to the professionals. The fried goat cheese seemed like the easiest place to start. The goat cheese doesn’t melt too much, it just gets very creamy and the outer layer has a great crunch to it. I decided to try the cheese on top of a simple salad made of shredded carrots, sunflower seeds, dried cranberries, oil and vinegar. It worked out great!

IMG_4374

Because goat cheese is expensive and I’m broke, I only bought a 4oz log thus resulting in only 3 discs of goat cheese, waah! I wanted MORE!

I guess you could say this particular recipe is for one person. Or…you could buy an 8 ounce log of goat cheese instead of 4 and then you will have even more! I am good at math.

I had to share with my husband so we each got one whole piece and then half of the last one. Ah well.

IMG_4378IMG_4382

Fried Goat Cheese
{Makes 3 slices}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 oz log soft goat cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 cup flour
  • Salt & pepper, to taste
  • 2/3 cup panko
  • 1/4 olive oil

DIRECTIONS:

In a small bowl, beat the egg until frothy (add some water if you want). In a small dish mix the flour, salt and pepper. Add panko to a third dish.

Slice the goat cheese into three even pieces. With your hands, roll each piece into a ball and squish down with your hands to form a disc.

Lightly dredge the goat cheese into the flour, shaking off any excess. Then into the egg, shaking off excess and finally coat with the panko, pressing to adhere.

In a small sauté pan, heat the olive oil to medium-high heat. When the oil begins to shimmer, fry the goat cheese until golden brown, about 1 1/2 minutes on each side.

Remove from the pan and place onto paper towels to get rid of any extra oil. Serve immediately onto prepared salad or however you like!

**Print this Recipe**

10 Responses to “Fried Goat Cheese”

  1. I love goat cheese. I really, really love fried goat cheese. Why did I never realize it was so simple? This could be dangerous. Stupid expensive goat cheese.

  2. Um…did you say fried goat cheese….hello friend. How very delightful. Have to make soon.

  3. I love goat cheese and I love fried food. Why the heck have I never tried to combine these two amazing treats? thank you for making my Friday a little brighter!

  4. This looks delicious and so simple! Will be making this soon, thanks for the inspiration!

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

