Deep Dish Pizza

Does anyone else read this title and think of the song “stroke me” from Billy Squier?

DEEP. DISH. PIZZA. DEEP! DISH!

No? Moving on…

title

I am very very sorry for not posting a single thing all week. I wish I had a good reason…like I was busy traveling the world or giving birth or cutting both my arms off by accident. Nope…I got a job! Only took 36 years.

I will try and get back into the swing of things and have a regular schedule. I would like to get a post up 2-3 times a week.

Sometimes it is hard to figure out what to make for the site. I have a ton of recipes saved that I want to try but I don’t want to keep posting ideas from other people. I don’t mind doing it once in awhile because there are things I still need to learn but I would really like to create ideas of my own.

Well…this is not one of those recipes. I mean I DID come up with my own toppings!! I’m clever.

I have made dough for a deep dish pizza before, but I wanted to try a new one. This one is from King Arthur Flour and hey, I actually used King Arthur Flour! It came out really well.

ingredients

Toss all ingredients into the bowl of a mixer (or regular bowl and dig in with your hands) and mix it up.

IMG_4434IMG_4438IMG_4443

So I don’t own “deep dish pans” but these pans worked just fine. The dough I made was enough for two small pizzas.

IMG_4464

I may have poked these a few times too many, this is why they are weird and lumpy…

IMG_4513

I chose veggies and my husband chose pepperoni and jalapeno.

ingredients2

Fresh mozzarella! I may cut it thinner next time because it didn’t melt as much as I would have liked.

IMG_4501

I liked that this recipe called for chunky tomatoes instead of regular pizza sauce, I think it made it it taste more authentic.

IMG_4519

Her & His pizzas. FYI – I sautéed my broccoli before I added it

IMG_4524-tileIMG_4533-tileIMG_4547-tile

Action shot!

IMG_4540

IMG_4598-tile

Mmmmmmmm.

IMG_4602

Welp, we are settling in for the day. I came home from work early because our “NEMO” storm has begun and apparently it is going to get much worse. It doesn’t usually get worse, but any reason to load up on “supplies” (food & booze) and shut ourselves in for the night sounds good to me. If you are getting snow tonight and tomorrow, stay safe out there!!

Deep Dish Pizza {dough recipe here}
makes 2 small pizzas

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 3/4 tsp salt
  • 2 3/4 tsp instant yeast (~1 1/2 packets)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 4 tbsp butter, melted
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 cup + 2 tbsp lukewarm water
  • 28 oz can diced tomatoes
  • 2-4 garlic cloves peeled and minced
  • 1-2 tsp mixed dried italian herbs (oregano, basil, rosemary)
  • 3/4 lb mozzarella cheese, thinly sliced
  • 1 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
  • 1 cup shredded cheese of choice (cheddar, extra mozzarella, etc)
  • Meat and/or vegetable toppings

DIRECTIONS:

To make the dough: Mix all the dough ingredients and knead (by hand or mixer) to make a smooth ball. This will take about 7 minutes at medium-low speed in a stand mixer.

Place the dough in a lightly oiled bowl. Cover, and let rise in a warm area until very puffy, about 1 hour.

Meanwhile, ready two 8” (or 14” for one pizza) deep dish pans. Grease pans with non-stick vegetable oil spray, then pour in 2-4 tbsp olive oil, tilting it to cover the bottom of the pans, and partway up the sides.

Remove dough from bowl and cut into two equal pieces. Stretch each dough into a large circle (with your hands or a lightly oiled baking mat)

Lay the dough in the pan, and stretch it towards the edges until it starts to shrink back. Repeat with the other dough. Cover, and let rest for 15 minutes. Start preheating oven to 425°F while the dough rests.

Stretch the dough to cover the bottom of the pan, then gently push it up the sides of the pan. The olive oil may ooze over the edge of the crust and that’s ok. Let dough rest for another 15 minutes or so, as your oven comes to 425°F.

Bake the dough for 10 minutes, until it’s set and barely beginning to brown. Meanwhile, prepare the filling.

Drain tomatoes thoroughly. Combine with the italian herbs and garlic. Add salt and pepper to taste.

For each dough: cover bottom with sliced mozzarella, fanning it into the crust. Add toppings of choice, and top with tomato mixture. Sprinkle with grated parmesan and remaining shredded cheese.  

Bake the pizzas for about 25 minutes, or until the fillings are bubbly and the tops are golden brown. Remove from the oven and carefully lift out of the pan onto a rack. Allow pizzas to cool for 15 minutes before cutting and serving.

**Print this Recipe**

2 Comments to “Deep Dish Pizza”

  1. 1. nemo is a bitch.
    2. i LOVE that you referenced billy squier.
    3. i’m not sure where you are right now but i miss you.
    4. can we do din din some night?
    5. always love you girl 🙂

    • I’m living at mom’s house on Sibley and I miss you! Dinner would be nice, I would love to catch up! Enjoy this storm (?) we are having… I don’t see anything yet but it’s still early I guess.. ah, xoxo

Leave a Reply

