Stuffed Peppers with Wheat Berries

title

Oh hey. Hi.

What’s new? Not a whole lot on this end. I made a batch of cooked wheat berries for the first time and they are really good (is this exciting news or WHAT)! I mentioned in this post that I had received them as part of my Valentine’s Day gift from the husband H-man. They take some time to “make” which basically means they need to soak for a long period of time (overnight, if you’d like ) and then you cook them in simmering water for another 1 to 1 1/2 hours. Plan ahead! It’s really worth it, because they taste great and they are good for you! WINWIN.

These are the cooking directions I found that were very helpful.    

peppers

It has been a while since I’ve made stuffed peppers but when I was trying to figure out how to use the cooked wheat berries, they immediately came to mind (yes, I cooked the wheat berries without having a clue on how I was going to use them… I was excited). Then I thought feta would be a nice addition because I have put it in stuffed peppers before. Then maybe a little spinach, some shallots and some diced tomatoes and yeah! That’s pretty much sums up my thinking process.

IMG_4760IMG_4761IMG_4764

To be honest, these pictures are driving me nuts. I need to stop using my indoor lights at night (or actually learn how to use them).

Natural light is

so

so

so

so 

much nicer.

IMG_4768IMG_4774IMG_4776

They came out great!

I am going to go ahead and post these terrible photos anyway because that’s how much I enjoyed this meal and I wanted to share it with you ASAP. 

Enjoy!

Stuffed Peppers with Wheat Berries
Makes 4 large peppers

Ingredients:

  • 4 large green peppers
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 shallots, diced (or medium sized onion)
  • 2 1/2 cups wheat berries, cooked
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes, ~1/2 liquid drained
  • 3-4 cups loosely packed spinach (or 3-4 handfuls)
  • 6 oz feta cheese, crumbled
  • 1/2 tsp salt, plus extra for boiling water
  • 1/4 tsp pepper

Directions:

Bring a large pot of water to boil (enough to cover peppers). Meanwhile, cut the tops off of the peppers, remove seeds. Chop the pepper tops, if you would like.

Preheat oven to 350°F

When the water boils, add salt (~1/2 tbsp) and immerse the peppers. Cook until bright green, ~1-3 minutes. Remove peppers and let cool.

While the peppers cool, heat oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add shallot and green pepper (if using) and cook until softened ~3-5 minutes. Add wheat berries, 1 cup of the diced tomatoes, salt, pepper and spinach. Cook until heated through and spinach is wilted. Remove from heat and mix in feta.

Add some of the diced tomatoes to the bottom of a lightly greased 8 x 8 glass baking dish. Stuff each pepper evenly with the mixture and place into the baking dish. Top with the remaining diced tomatoes.

Bake 50-55 minutes, until heated through.

**Print this Recipe**

Leave a Reply

