Huevos Rancheros

IMG_4893

What a fantastic name for a meal…HUEVOS RANCHEROS! So fun to say, right?

I hope you are saying it out loud right now.

1

Well I am excited to be blogging again! Man, I really dislike the word blogging. Anyway, I have a lot of photos saved on the computer so I will try and post on a more consistent schedule. I have a lot of fantastic recipes and I can’t wait to share them!

I am trying not to continuously remake recipes from other sites but I can’t help it! My Pinterest is FULL of awesome recipes and I want to make all of them. I have to learn to be a better cook somehow right?  I do have a few ideas of my own that I will try to incorporate as soon as I can and my husband comes up with the coolest ideas, so that is helpful.

2

This is my new favorite breakfast recipe I have ever made, which actually doesn’t say much because my breakfast usually consist of pretty boring food such as toast, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, yogurt with granola or the occasional Dunkin Donuts. My husband really loved this meal (huge bean fan!).

IMG_4872-horz

It’s very easy to make and so very good. It was one of those fantastic situations where I was making a grocery list and was thinking to myself that I hadn’t tried a good breakfast recipe in awhile and BOOM this recipe appeared right before my eyes and I knew I had to make it ASAP.

IMG_4890

It would be great for dinner as well, it’s 10pm and I’m craving one right now!

Huevos Rancheros  {adapted from Bev Cooks }
Makes 4 Rancheros

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2-3 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, divided
  • 4 corn tortillas
  • 1 cup black beans (1 can, drained and rinsed)
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 3-4 tsp chili powder (OR 2 tsp chili powder, 2 tsp cumin. I didn’t have cumin on hand)
  • 4 tbsp salsa
  • 4 eggs
  • Fresh cilantro, for garnish
  • Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

DIRECTIONS:

In a food processor, add the beans, garlic, chili powder, ~1 tbsp oil and a pinch of salt and pepper. Blitz until you get a puree, adding more oil if needed. Transfer to a small sauce pan and set it on a low heat. Stir until mixture is heated through. Remove from heat.

Put a small skillet over the heated burner and add the tiniest bit of oil. Lightly toast each tortilla until slightly browned and bubbly. Transfer to a plate.

Add ~1 tsp of oil to the skillet and crack your first egg in. You can also use a bigger skillet to fry more than one egg at a time. Continue to fry eggs until the whites are set but the yolks are still runny.

In the meantime, spread the bean mixture over each tortilla, followed by a thin layer of salsa. Then top each with an egg. Dollop with a little more salsa, cilantro and black pepper.

*Print Recipe

2 Comments to “Huevos Rancheros”

Leave a Reply

