Toasted Almond Granola

Title

I wanted to update my site many times last week but I could never bring myself to do it. I was watching the news a lot and following the Boston coverage, feeling happy that we were no longer Boston residents but also sad that we were no longer Boston residents. I would have loved to have been back in the city, witnessing all the compassion and strength. I am really really glad that my husband and I had a chance to live in that fantastic city. I wish it had been longer than a year, but I will never forget the fun we had and all the amazing people we met! Fortunately, no one I know was harmed but my heart breaks for those who were killed and are currently in critical care.

IMG_5100

I also did not update because I have been sick with a terrible head cold all week. Headache, coughing, sore throat, etc. Not cool.

I am still feeling a little under the weather but I did not have to work today so I was able to spend the majority of my time on the couch, watching the Red Sox game (and missing most of it because I fell asleep!).

Now I have poured myself a hot cup of honey, with a splash of tea (kidding) and wanted to stop in and say hello!

IMG_5091

Who knew how easy granola was to make! I made Shutterbean’s Killer Granola a few months ago and it was fantastic. After trying out two great recipes and realizing how simple they are, I think I could maybe create my own next time! Could you imagine?! ME making my OWN recipe…

I’m so funny.

IMG_5074

All mixed up! I love the combination of sliced almonds and whole almonds. Since almonds are expensive, I went to the bulk section at my local grocery store and scooped out a cup of each, so much cheaper!

IMG_5085IMG_5090

This made quite a lot, so I have been eating it all.week.long.

I am happy to report that I never got sick of it! Neither did my husband! 

IMG_5100-horz

Toasted Almond Granola {adapted from Joy The Baker}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 4 cups old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup sliced, raw almonds
  • 1 cup whole, raw almonds
  • 1/2 cup sweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar (what I had on hand)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

Place a rack in the upper third and middle of the oven and preheat to 325°F. Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.

Whisk together oats, whole almonds, slivered almonds, coconut, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan, melt butter, oil, honey and brown sugar until the sugar is dissolved and mixture begins to boil. Carefully whisk together so it’s well incorporated. Add the vanilla extract. Pour the warm mixture over the oat and almond mixture and toss together with a wooden spoon, making sure all of the oat mixture gets moistened by the sugar and oil mixture.

Spread the mixture onto the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 25-30 minutes, removing oats to stir and toss on the pan twice during baking. Remove from the oven and let cool. Once cooled, store in an airtight container for up to two weeks.

*Print Recipe

Leave a Reply

