Tortellini Soup

souptitle

Pasta in soup is a favorite of mine! Or… I suppose adding any starch because I like the addition of rice in some soups and also enjoy a few big chunks of potato (not with the rice).  ALSO, dipping bread into soup…that counts right?

So it’s a beautiful day out there today and although it is not as warm as I’d like, at least the sun is shining. My husband and I have a lot of errands today so this will be fairly short! Not that I have anything new to mention especially since I haven’t been feeling well. Activities have been limited to laying on the couch, watching tv and drinking a lot of tea.

Oh I know what I can share! I think I have a few cavities. Actually, I know I have a few cavities…the left side of my mouth is in so much pain, I can hardly think straight. Here’s the thing, I HATE going to the Dentist and I have been putting this off for…oh, maybe over a year. So it’s my own fault.

ANYWAY.

IMG_5019

Soups are always an easy meal to make. Chop up veggies, add broth, throw in pasta and what not, then a dash of this and that and let it heat through.

Here it is all finished up!

IMG_5041

CHEESE! Don’t forget the cheese.

Fresh grated cheese if you can. Huge difference. I used Romano because I had it on hand but use whatever you like!

IMG_5046

Tortellini Soup {adapted from the cookbook, Cook without a Book: Meatless Meals}

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 quart good quality vegetable broth
  • 1 can (14.5oz) petite-cut diced tomatoes
  • 1 medium-large onion, cut into medium dice
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and cut into medium dice
  • 1 tsp Italian seasoning (or equal amounts basil, rosemary, thyme, oregano)
  • 8 lightly packed cups (about 8oz) baby spinach
  • 2 cups (about 9oz) bite-size cheese tortellini, fresh or frozen
  • Grated cheese, for passing (Romano, Parmesan Reggiano, etc)

DIRECTIONS:

Heat a small saucepan over medium-high. Combine the broth and tomatoes in the saucepan and bring to a boil. Turn off heat, set aside.

Meanwhile, heat the oil in a Dutch oven or soup pot over medium-high heat. Add the onion and carrots and cook until soft and golden brown, about 5 minutes. Stir in the zucchini and Italian seasoning and cook until fragrant, a minute or so. Add the hot broth mixture and 1 cup of water and bring to a simmer. Reduce heat to medium-low and simmer, partially covered, for about 10 minutes.

Add the spinach, stirring until it wilts and cook, partially covered, about 5 minutes longer. Stir in the tortellini and cook, partially covered, until the tortellini are tender and their starch has lightly thickened the soup, about 4-6 minutes. Serve hot with grated cheese passed separately.

 *Print Recipe

 

2 Comments to “Tortellini Soup”

  1. Beautiful soup. Go to the damn dentist!

Leave a Reply

